Disintegration of the Netherlands Antilles: effects on trademark registrations

On October 10, 2010, the islands of Curacao and Saint Maarten will become autonomous countries within the Kingdom of The Netherlands. The 3 smaller islands - Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba, the so-called BES islands – will instead become a direct part of The Netherlands, even though as special municipalities. Owners of trademark rights in the Netherlands Antilles will have, therefore, to confirm their intention to maintain their IP rights for Curacao, Saint Maarten e BES Island within one year from October 10, 2010. All existing International registration with AN designation will have, instead, to be re-confirmed directly with the WIPO within 6 months from October 10, 2010. The WIPO will also contact all trademark owners to inform them on the procedure to follow.

09/16/2010 | Trade Mark